Hong Kong Tram Timelapse Video

pundit from another planet

haonowshaokao writes: I’ve been editing videos from a few years back, trying to get to grips with the massive backlog, and I thought I’d have a go at fixing something I made when I returned to China in 2009 – a timelapse video shot from the front of a tram across Hong Kong Island.

[See also: Why Hong Kong never sleeps]

The original version was ok in terms of general concept, but the juddering effect of the tram’s movement made the thing difficult to watch. In order to fix it I spent an hour or so messing about with the deshaker plugin for Virtualdub and then another hour masking the resultant odd framing in Sony Vegas, brightening up the picture a little, making it look pleasantly odd.

The result is quite a bit better, I think, though it’s difficult to know if you’re improving things when you…

View original post 59 more words

Leave a Reply

